The tomorrow that finally came

I never thought I would see this day. I am sitting in my living room, sipping chai tea because it’s a tad bit cool, typing up a blog post on my computer, which is plugged into the wall, my wall, charging. After months and months of anticipation, two things I had written off as near impossible have come to be: “winter” is here, and we have electricity. These two events have changed my standard of living so drastically, it’s hard to describe.

Since the seasons changed, my energy level has skyrocketed. The heat was so draining; I used to spend the middle of the day lying on the ground, drenched in sweat, staring blankly at the ceiling. Now I lesson plan, walk into the market, socialize, exercise, work on side projects, and garden. Each day is ten times more productive. Instead of viewing a new day as something to survive, I’m excited to see what challenges the day will bring, and what tasks I’ll be able to tackle. It feels like the start of a new era. The littlest things can make me so happy – reaching for my sweater in the morning, enjoying the warmth of my morning oatmeal and the heat of Bullet (our cat) purring on my lap while I read, cuddling under my blanket to watch a movie before I fall asleep… everything is better when it’s a little bit cold.

And now that we have electricity, the heat will never be as strong as it was those first few months! We’ve armed ourselves with two fans and a fridge for when summer comes again. I can finally keep vegetables (VEGETABLES!) for more than 24 hours, which means I can eat them more than once or twice a week. And of course, Maria can finally keep her dairy products and meat as well. Refrigerators are truly miraculous machines. I can also finally use the immersion blender I brought from home to make smoothies, soups, hummus, pesto, and a million other things. My diet completely diversified overnight. I’m ecstatic. Of course, I can’t overlook the simple, yet incredibly important convenience of light. No more squinting over stacks of paper lit by oil lamps. No more fumbling around and breaking things in the dark. No more 7:00 bedtime. Also, I no longer have to put on knee and shoulder covering clothing to go charge my phone, worry about the teacher’s sala getting locked on the weekends, or forego long-distance phone conversations because I don’t have enough battery. The cherry on top: now that we have electricity, we can get our window screens installed. Goodbye mosquitos.

The day that we got electricity felt like Christmas. It still feels like Christmas. I am so happy. I am so happy. I am so happy. I hope I never forget this feeling.

Leave a Reply

