Snack danger

This post has nothing to do with snacks or danger, but that is by far my favorite English graffiti sighting in Namaacha thus far. I suppose I do eat a lot of snacks here. I’m living with a host family right now and am obliged to take cookies and/or bananas with me wherever I go, lest I starve to death after eating an entire loaf of bread with an oil-drenched egg for breakfast… Maybe the “snack danger” graffiti is a legitimate warning to Peace Corps Trainees. I have yet to see a full-length mirror so who really knows if this diet is taking a toll on my figure.

Whatevs. I’m only here for 3.5 more weeks! We had placement interviews yesterday, and we’ll find out our sites on Thursday. !!!!! . How has training flown by so fast? I must admit – I’m ready to be at site. My host family is great, but I miss the many wonderful freedoms that come with living on my own: playing my music as loud as I like, cooking whatever/whenever, knowing where things are, not having to wear pants. It’s the small things really. Annnnd I’m a little over the college-y atmosphere of training. I love everyone in my group, but I didn’t join Peace Corps to socialize with other Americans 24/7, and I’ve forgotten that. Lastly, I CAN’T WAIT TO BUST MY FRENCH PRESS OUT OF MY TWO-YEAR BAG GOOD GRACIOUS.

Speaking of French press, we went on our site visits this past week, and I got to drink real coffee. It was so delicious. Mmmm. Other things that happened: French toast, stir-fry, mango smoothies, banana pancakes, hummus, lentils, and more. Oh yeah, it was also the most beautiful place ever. We went to visit a health volunteer in Quissico, which kind of looks like Hawaii. I’ve never actually been to Hawaii, but that’s what I’ve been told. Visiting a health volunteer was very cool – we got to see the hospital she works in, and sit in on a meeting with one of her community groups, and she had a ton of great knowledge to share about health-related things. I learned all about the Maringa plant, which is super bomb. It has a ton of protein and vitamins, and is easy to grow. Hopefully I’ll be planting some at site! Also, she had an adorable dog. At this point I’m about 90% positive I’ll get a dog at site… and maybe a cat too… and I might name them Rice and Beans… not that I’ve thought about it or anything. Some pictures from site visits:

My awesome site visit crew!

My awesome site visit crew!

DSCN0380

A (very nice) Moçambican classroom!

DSCN0403

French toast Moz-style.

What else what else? We got to do some permagardening on Saturday. It was so great to get my hands dirty and do some real manual labor. We made a compost pile; weeded, tilled, and prepped the land; then planted a four-row garden. I was pretty proud of the work we got done in just one day. We also had a little Halloween party for the kids in Namaacha. It was adorable. My sister and I made some paper masks and played a bunch of games. I did some exploring and hiking around Namaacha, but I still have yet to go to the point where Moçambique meets Swazi and South Africa… I don’t understand how that hasn’t happened yet! One of these days. 

DSCN0473

That’s all folks!

Leave a Reply

