So I’m dying

I woke up this morning to the worst headache of my life, stomach-cramps, sore muscles, serious shivers, and killer diarrhea. Yay. Welcome to the sick club. I thought I could make it through PST without becoming a member, but here I am, and it sucks. There’s nothing quite like being deathly ill while living with a host family in Mozambique. I miss my bed – the one in the states without the broken planks, paper-thin mattress, and mosquito net. I miss silence – the blaring television and screaming children are not helping my headache. I miss being able to set the temperature inside, instead of freezing or sweating it out next to the window. I miss having control over normal bodily functions. The medical staff says I have a bacterial infection. I’m hoping it doesn’t take the full five days of Cipro to go away. Especially since every time I leave my room, my family asks if I feel any better. It’s gonna be a long week!

Even though I feel like death, I’m still insanely happy to be here. Yesterday I went for a small hike with some folks through the hills of Namaacha, and it was beautiful. I’m in Africa. This is real. This is my home for the next two years. I can’t wait can’t wait can’t wait to find out my site, move in, and get started. Five-ish more weeks!

Also, once I get over this infection, not being sick is gonna feel awesome.

Also, rehydration salts are the worst thing ever.

4 comments

  1. Sarah, I’m so sorry. Feel better. Thinking about/praying for you. Love you.

  2. Sarah, I’m so sorry. Feel better. Thinking about/praying for you. Love you.

  3. Oh wow, that sounds miserable! Poor thing. I hope you feel better very soon so you can get back to your adventures in Africa. :)

  4. Get well soon. I’m glad you’re enjoying life in Africa.

Leave a Reply

