Couch or not, here we come!

Tomorrow I leave for a long, beer-fueled, sleep-deprived European adventure. That actually sounds kind of miserable, but let me tell ya, it’s gonna be a party! (And in truth, I would like to imbibe moderately and sleep well, I just don’t foresee that being possible for much of the trip.) Oh well. Health concerns aside, I CAN’T WAIT I CAN’T WAIT I CAN’T WAIT!!! This is kind of a big deal. Not only is it my first entirely self-funded vacay, it will be my first time surfing couches in other countries. I’m a little bit nervous about this. CouchSurfers are notoriously flaky, and in order to save money we will have to cancel our hostel reservations 48 hours in advance… so unfortunately it’s all or nothing. We won’t be surfing the whole time by any means. At this point it looks like just a few nights here and there. The rest of the time we’ll stay in hostels. Yay for adventure!

Now here is the part where I say I’ve packed my bags and tripled checked my lists, but come on – you guys know me. Instead of preparing for my trip, I’ve been practicing new guitar chords and playing Portuguese vocabulary games online. So I guess I should get down on that packing…

On another, less groovy note, I won’t be writing at all while I’m abroad. I’ve decided not to bring my computer so I can live the internet-free lifestyle for a bit. Of course, this is mainly because I don’t want anything to happen to my beloved macbaby.

What ever will you do while I’m away? You could stock up on the usual hurricane supplies, stake out a spot in your basement, and count the minutes until I return OR you could join CouchSurfing, and plan a fun weekend trip to a nearby city! I highly suggest the second option.

Oh, and you should also make these amazing blackberry walnut oat rolls. *Note: These are NOT healthy – they are vegan, and they contain the word “oat,” but come on, don’t be foolish. I’m not saying you can’t eat three in one day, I did… but I also regret that decision, kind of. I followed this recipe for the most part. Just one tweak: instead of the icing she uses, I created a coconut glaze. It’s real simple. Mix 2 tablespoons melted coconut oil, 1/2 cup powdered sugar, and enough water (added slowly) to get the consistency you like. Drizzle over top and desfrutas da sua refeição! That’s “enjoy your meal” in Portuguese. Actually, it’s probably not. I don’t know anything.

photo 1-1

Begin with some beautiful fresh blackberries!

photo 2-1

Roll out some dough (I substituted a little whole wheat pastry for some of the white to feel better about myself – I also did the chamomile infusion she mentions, and would totally recommend it)

photo 3

Smother it in berries, chopped walnuts, vegan butter, and something sweet!

photo 4-1

Roll that baby up!

photo 5-1

Slice evenly, and space the rolls out in a nice baking pan. I covered mine and put them in the fridge overnight, for a fresh baked post-run treat in the morning!

photo 3-1

Pop the rolls in the oven for a bit, whip up the glaze, and drizzle on top!

photo 1-2

Drool over your magnificent creation

photo 2-2

Now enjoy a roll (or three) outside, with a cup of coffee, and a friend! :)

Welp, that’s all for now, friends. I’ll be back in mid-June. Until then! :)

One comment

  1. jazzmarazz

    I WILL BE SEEING YOU IN THE AIRPORT IN 31 HOURS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WE ARE SPARTA!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

