A break from the Mondays

The past few Mondays in my life have been intense. The first one, I started teaching a new class. The second one, I lost an incredible, life-long friend. The most recent one, I got my invitation to join the Peace Corps. I’ve been on an emotional roller-coaster. Every time the reality of one of these events sinks in, I am overcome with a huge range of feelings – despair, elation, stress, confusion. In a lot of ways I’m still struggling to process everything.

I wasn’t able to make it to the funeral. I don’t think his death will seem real until I’m back in Alabama, going for a late-night stroll, sitting on the swing where we used to talk about life and debate the big questions. Alone. When I got my invitation, I excitedly scrolled through my contacts deciding who to text, came across his name, and put my phone down. It felt wrong to be so happy in the wake of such tragedy. I imagined what he would say if I could call him; he knew this was a big dream of mine. He was so great at sharing others’ joys without a trace of jealousy, making you feel perfectly loved and celebrated. God, he was a good kid. Miss you buddy.

So, this Monday, I’m taking a break from the Mondays. I’m not sure I can handle much more right now. It’s Memorial Day, thank goodness. I’m about to make the dough for some blackberry-walnut rolls, which I can’t wait to enjoy with a big cup of coffee and a sweet friend. We’re meeting up to run the Ben Franklin Bridge first thing in the morning, and then she’ll come over for breakfast. I can’t think of a more perfect way to welcome a week.

I hope you plan to take a break from the Mondays too.

Leave a Reply

