It’s actually happening

The fact that I am currently writing this gives me an uneasy feeling, like I might be jinxing myself. As soon as I post this, I will likely contract a deadly disease, get abducted by aliens, or, at the very least, trip and break my arm again. Lest I tempt fate, I will be sure to knock on wood right before I hit the publish button. Although, come to think of it, my desk is probably formica… So to cover all my bases, I will also procure a rabbit’s foot, cross all of my fingers, throw some salt over my shoulder, pick a four leaf clover, and generally avoid mirrors for the rest of the day. Ha. Ha. Okay, superstitions aside, I have some very big news to share. Epic drum roll please.

So.

After one and three-quarter years of waiting,

months and months of anticipating,

obsessive email checking and spam hating,

just when I thought all hope was fading,

! ! ! ! I FINALLY GOT MY INVITATION TO JOIN THE PEACE CORPS ! ! ! !

You guys you guys you guys you guys you guys you guys you guys you guys you guys you guys you guys you guys you guys you guys you guys you guys you guys you guys you guys you guys you guys you guysssssssssssssss. I am all kinds of freaking out. It’s kind of funny how it happened. I was having a generally bad day, checking the Future Peace Corps Volunteers Facebook group every half hour, seeing other people get their invites, feeling bitter. Finally I thought to myself, Sarah, you are making yourself miserable. This is ridiculous, just continue on with your life until you hear from them. So, I left the Facebook group and did some planning for the class I was teaching that night, some apartment searching on craigslist, and some serious nomming. Half an hour later, I got an email from my placement officer. A watched pot never boils amiright?! So here are the deets:

Country: Mozambique……….. REALLY, MOZAMBIQUE Y’ALL! Just – let’s take a second. Google that.

Like I said, MOZAMBIQUE Y’ALL!!!!

Program: Education Project

Job Title: Secondary Education – English Teacher

Staging Date: September 24, 2013

Pre-Service Training (in Mozambique): September 26 – December 5, 2013

Tentative Dates of Service: December 6, 2013 – December 5, 2015

What even is my life right now? I spent this past weekend enjoying the shore with Drew and hosting two wonderful French/Canadian Couchsurfers. In nine days I leave for a whirlwind European tour with amazing friends. Four months from now, I will be flying off to spend the next two years of my life in southern Africa. Is this a dream? Because if it is, in the words of Chris Brown, “Don’t wake me up up up up up up. Don’t wake me up. Don’t wake me.”

I want to give a big thank you to all the people who have been encouraging and supporting me this whole time – it really means a lot! Obviously, I have a ton to do and learn before this next step in my life, but as always, I’ll try to keep you updated.

I guess this is rather anticlimactic now, but I took some ‘grams this weekend that I wanted to show y’all:

IMG_2876

We have a new neighbor at Church House!

IMG_2882

I ate some vegan ice cream from a teacup.

IMG_2889

I had breakfast with Drew – we reverted to our high school selves.

IMG_2929

We explored some Sandy aftermath.

IMG_2930

I appreciated the gray beach weather.

IMG_2923

Sometimes it’s my favorite.

IMG_2920

I attempted to take a dramatic sea picture and failed.

IMG_2927

I wished cars still came with this.

IMG_2915

We played some boardwalk games,

IMG_2917

rode some kiddy rides,

IMG_2925

and won some sweet tats.

IMG_2919

And, we enjoyed a beautiful sunset.

So, yeah. That’s all I’ve got for ya today. Now excuse me while I go fill out a million forms.

2 comments

  1. I AM SO EXCITED FOR YOU. Also Megan has a set of tea cups just like the one in the picture! I will “cheers” you every time I drink out of it.

Leave a Reply

