A weekend in pictures

I’ve had a lot on my mind… things that I can’t change, things that I will not know the answers to for a while, things that take up a lot of space. They are loaded and heavy, dragging me down into an ocean of worry. I’m struggling to keep my head above water. My thoughts run in circles like a dog chasing its tail. This is pointless, I am torturing myself. I know that nothing good will come of these mind games, but silencing my thoughts is not an easy task – especially when I have nothing to distract myself with.

Luckily I was able to spend this weekend with some wonderful friends in Durham, and they helped me get out of my head a bit. Here are some pictures of lovely things and good times.

IMG_2129

I traveled via Megabus, with a long stop in Richmond, VA. This is the train station.

IMG_2157

While I waited for my next bus I went into this adorable cafe,

IMG_2126

sipped a big cup of coffee,

IMG_2131

and took pictures of strangers.

Walked back through the city,

I walked back through the city,

Met some folks at the farmer's market,

met some nice folks at the farmer’s market,

And slowly made my way back to the bus stop

and slowly made my way back to the bus stop.

When I arrived in Durham I met these crazy folks for Mediterranean food

When I arrived in Durham I met these crazy folks for Mediterranean food, then headed to Full Steam for some delicious local brews.

IMG_2189

Woke up the next morning to this lovely scene,

And went to yoga with this lovely girl

and went to yoga with this lovely girl.

IMG_2223

We spent the afternoon helping cook up this feast

For a Durham-style $4 dinner

for a Durham-style $4 dinner.

The food was blessed

The food was blessed,

Conversation was lively

conversation was lively, and there was a dance party to follow.

The next day was filled with more adventures

The next day was filled with more adventures

More beautiful Furman faces

and more beautiful Furman faces

And then there was one last cup of coffee and a reluctant departure.

On Monday there was one last cup of coffee and a reluctant departure. Thanks for an amazing weekend!

One comment

  1. I like the part about taking pictures with strangers!

Leave a Reply

