The ‘h’ word & roasting garlic

Last night my sister and I went to an awesome potluck dinner. I was feeling pretty cool, rocking made-in-the-USA skinny jeans and an oversized thrift store sweater, my hair in a messy fishtail braid. We brought a vegan cabbage and seitan salad, a six pack of local craft beers, and some fresh homemade roasted garlic bread wrapped in some beautiful hand embroidered fabric I bought from a woman with no teeth in a market in El Salvador and tucked in a basket I wove from the dried reeds of my deceased great aunt’s property along Bear Lake in Michigan. Okay, just kidding about the basket part, I don’t know how to weave baskets. But I DO realize how ridiculously well I fit a certain stereotype last night, and I’ve decided that this stereotype, this word, dare I say it? “hipster” has been beaten into the ground. I may roll my eyes at the particularly obnoxious hipster couple in line in front of me at Whole Foods, but I also roll my eyes at the condescending conversation of the couple in line behind me, cynically discussing how hipster the obnoxious wanna be hipsters are. Folks, don’t you know that calling people hipster is old news? I cringe at the word when I hear it now.

Calling someone a hipster is unlike any other stereotype-based insult, because it’s not really about someone’s taste or style (chances are, the insulter is also drinking a soy latte and wearing leather oxfords). The hipster insult is actually a criticism of the very basic human desire for affirmation. Calling someone a hipster is the equivalent of calling someone out for trying to be cool, which then turns into a competition of who’s cool is more authentic, which ends up sounding kind of pathetic. Everybody is trying to be cool. Don’t pretend like you’re not. The macbook you’re reading this blog post on? You bought it because you thought it was cool. When you first started drinking your coffee black, you didn’t think it was delicious, you thought it was cool. You bought your organic produce from the local farmer’s market because you want to support small farmers and eat healthy food, and you think that’s cool. The truth is, everyone is just trying to be cool, everyone cares what other people think of them, and it’s silly to pretend like you’re above it. Let’s just let people like what they like and not overanalyze their ulterior motives. I say down with the ‘h’ word! Who’s with me?

In other news, the roasted garlic bread was delicious. I love roasted garlic. It’s wonderful. You can use it to make a spread, you can mix it in your mashed potatoes, throw it on top of a pizza, puree it into some hummus, throw it in a soup, the options are endless. It’s an instant flavor boost. You should make some, I’ll tell you how:

1. Grab a whole head of garlic and preheat your oven to 400°

2. Peel off the outer layers on your head of garlic so it looks like this:

3. Chop off the very top of the head, so that each individual clove is exposed:

4. Wrap the garlic in aluminum foil, and then drizzle with olive oil, making sure that each clove is covered:

5. Wrap that baby up and put it in the oven for 30 minutes

6. Take the garlic out of the oven, unwrap it, and let it cool for a couple minutes. Then you can simply squeeze out the cloves and use them however you wish!

Here’s the bread I made:

Mmm.

2 comments

  1. Very insightful post and I’ve never tried roasting the garlic before adding it to the bread, I think I might just try that thank you.

Leave a Reply

