Cookies: Carrot Oatmeal Spice

As I biked across town this morning I was caught off-guard by the chilly breeze and the crackle of orangey brown leaves under my wheels… is it really September 10th? Whatever happened to August? Well somehow it snuck up on me, but as is evident from the flannel-clad pumpkin latte sipping going on in my new favorite coffee shop, autumn has arrived! And I’ve got just the cookie to help you get in the fall swing.

My cookies pretty much always contain oatmeal. I don’t know what it is about that stuff. I love the texture of a good chewy, hearty cookie. And no matter how much butter, oil, or sugar a cookie may have, if there’s oatmeal it just SEEMS more wholesome. And I don’t like to feed people junk. If it’s unhealthy, it will at least be super delicious and made with quality ingredients… and maybe some oatmeal. So if you’re ever looking for a cookie recipe made with ten kinds of chocolate or boxed cake mix, you won’t find it here. That’s just not for me. I believe that a dessert can be too sweet. I believe that most are. I believe that more fat isn’t always better. I believe that shortcuts using pre-made, processed ingredients filled with preservatives and junk are not worth the time saved. I hope I can convert you.

Carrot Oatmeal Spice Cookies (Vegan)

1 cup all-purpose flour

½ teaspoon baking soda

¼ teaspoon baking powder

¼ teaspoon salt

A couple dashes cinnamon

1 pinch nutmeg

½ cup earth balance, room temp

1 ½ tablespoons flax meal

3 tablespoons water

1 teaspoon vanilla

½ cup granulated white sugar

½ cup packed brown sugar

1 cup grated carrots

½ cup dried cranberries

½ cup chopped walnuts

¾ cup oats

To begin, mix your flax meal and water in a small bowl and set aside to gel for about 10 minutes (vegan egg substitute). Also, if you haven’t already, grate your carrots and chop your walnuts. Perfect. Preheat the oven to 400.

In a large mixing bowl, combine the dry ingredients – flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg – and set aside.

Grab another mixing bowl and beat the earth balance for a minute. Add in your flax egg, and continue to mix until well combined. Add the vanilla and sugars and mix until you’ve got a nice thick batter.

Add your batter to the dry ingredients and stir well. Slowly add the carrots, cranberries, walnuts, and oats, one at a time until perfectly combined. Stick the cookie dough in the fridge while you line some cookie sheets with parchment paper. Drop spoonfuls onto sheet about two inches apart, and bake for 10 minutes or until lightly browned. Leave cookies on the sheet for a minute before moving to cooling racks. Enjoy!

9 comments

  1. I will have to try this!!! Especially since it is so hard for me not to eat junk after work! Always helping me out, even across the world ;)

  2. Kristin

    Thanks, Sarah! I might actually try this! Merritt and Megan have been teaching me how to cook… Last week I actually made dinner for them BY MYSELF, UNSUPERVISED. Can’t wait to surprise them with oatmeal cookies one day soon!

  3. ooh ahh. These sound delicious. What’s your new favorite coffee shop? so curious.

  4. hmmm vegan cookies. you will have to make this for us one day.

Leave a Reply

