Accomplishments and setbacks

So this break started off quite swimmingly, with the marriage of my dear friends Zach and Starlyn. The wedding was lovely. The ceremony was in the historic chapel @ AUMC, with a reception in the fellowship hall. There were kilts, pies, good friends, dancing, and plenty of merriment to go around. It was so great to see people from home, and so wonderful to be a witness to the union of two incredible and unique individuals. Here are a few pictures I snapped on my Christmas present, a brand new iPhone! (Warning – they have been instagramized)

The event

Paul, Alex, and JMo (some of the groomsmen) in their kilts!

The happy newlyweds!

In other news, being home has been absolutely wonderful! Although it was weird coming home to an empty house – my parents arrived two days after me, and then we spent a good 24 hours moving them back in. Oh, how I will miss Colorado! In addition to moving my parents back in, we had to decorate the house for Christmas of course, so it’s been pretty non-stop action since I got back.

Speaking of non-stop action, I also ran my farthest distance yet the other day (drumroll please)… 8.23 miles ladies and gents. To all you marathoners out there, I realize this is next to nothing, but for me it is quite the accomplishment! Unfortunately I pulled a little muscle in my foot during the last mile, so I’ve stuck to cycling and elliptical for the past two days. Even less fortunately, I woke up with a terrible head cold this morning, so it might be a couple more days until I can hit the pavement again.

Other happenings:

Due to my current sickly state, I’ve begun my long reading list for the break. The first book, The Brothers Karamazov by Fyodor Dostoevsky, is wonderful so far. My Dad has a really neat copy of the book from when he joined the Heritage Club after he finished college. It included a brief, fascinating biography of Dostoevsky at the beginning, and is bound in a rather large hardback cover. I’ll let you know how it goes!

My Dad’s vintage copy of The Brothers Karamazov

In other news, I made the Dean’s List yall, during my hardest semester ever. Typical. I have realized I am just like my brother, if I am not being seriously challenged, I will completely slack off. This all-or-nothing mentality is definitely a character flaw – but at least I’m aware of it? And considering that my brother just bought his first house and is working for an excellent law firm in Atlanta – I think (hope) I’ll be able to tap into my work drive when necessary.

Last, but not least, my poor baby (and by that I mean my dog, Sadie) got a huge gash in her stomach and had to go to the animal hospital last night to get sewn up! She has to wear a cone of shame for the next week, and she looks absolutely miserable. As we sat gathered around her, trying to keep her from licking the wound while my mom called in the emergency, I couldn’t help but think, “Thank God it’s not anything worse.” I don’t know what I would do without this pup! Or heaven forbid something should happen to someone in my family. So glad to have my family close this Christmas. Especially considering it may be my last Christmas in Auburn for a while – it’s weird to think that a year from now, I’ll probably be living in Sub-Saharan Africa, celebrating with people I’ve known for just a few short months!

One comment

  1. I love all of your posts here and I’m so happy for all of your accomplishments!! I can’t wait to come home and see you!!!

Leave a Reply

